Kolkata (earlier also called Calcutta) is the capital of India's West Bengal state. It was founded as an East India Company trading post, it was India's capital under the British Rule from 1773–1911. The word Kolkata derives from Kôlikata the Bengali name of one of three villages that predated the arrival of the British, in the area where the city was eventually established; the other two villages were Sutanuti and Govindapur. Spread roughly north–south along the east bank of the Hooghly River, Kolkata sits within the lower Ganges Delta of eastern India approximately 75 km (47 mi) west of the international border with Bangladesh. Today it’s known for its grand colonial art, galleries, architecture and cultural festivals. It’s also home to Mother House, headquarters of the Missionaries of Charity, founded by Mother Teresa, whose tomb is on site. The Victoria Memorial and Kolkata Race Course are located at the southern end of the Maidan.  Suburban areas in the Kolkata metropolitan area incorporate parts of the following districts: Kolkata, North 24 Parganas, South 24 Parganas, Howrah Bridge, Hooghly and Nadia.


Total $599